I just got done devouring this lovely little book, which I happened upon simply because I wanted a better understanding of what lasagna gardening is and her other, more popular book already had many holds on it at the library.  Turns out this one is perfect for us!  Since we are novices, this book is great because she gives a ton of practical tips and doesn’t get bogged down in technical or philosophical stuff.  She has nice little lists of “Pat’s Picks” for annuals, perennials, vegetables, fruits and berries – all with space-challenged gardeners in mind.  She actually explains how to espalier (or train on a flat wall) a fruit tree.  And since it’s published by Rodale, it’s all organic techniques, especially important to me because we are on a corner lot with two storm drains going to the Mississippi.  I will be buying this book – now my to-purchase list is growing quite long!

